

NEWS RELEASE FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE February 12, 2021

NDHP Announces Eight LETA Graduates

NARRATIVE: Eight troopers graduated from the North Dakota Law Enforcement Training Academy on Friday, Feb. 12, 2021, following successful completion of a comprehensive law enforcement training program. The newly sworn North Dakota Highway Patrol troopers began the academy on Sept. 22 and completed the 21-week accelerated training program this week. The new troopers will begin field training with assigned NDHP troopers beginning Monday, Feb. 15, and be temporarily stationed at posts throughout the state.

Governor Doug Burgum gave the graduation address and expressed gratitude to the new troopers and their families. He noted the courage and dedication needed of those who serve in uniform and wished them well as they begin their service to the citizens of North Dakota.

Retired Supreme Court Justice Dale Sandstrom administered the oath of office. A badge of authority, which is issued only to duly appointed and acting members of the highway patrol, was presented to each graduate.

Lt. Daniel Haugen, Training Director of the NDHP Law Enforcement Academy, noted the importance of family within the highway patrol and gave each recruit the opportunity to have a family member pin the badge of authority on them.

The graduates and their hometowns are **Dan Andersen**, Edina, MN; **Kristina Anderson**, Brainerd, MN; **Henry Gaskins**, Houston, TX; **Mitchell Mehrer**, Dickinson, ND; **James Myers**, Larimore, ND; **Andrew Skogen**, Bismarck, ND; **Stephen Horn**, Catlett, VA; and **Bennett Strege**, Detroit Lakes, MN.

NDHP Colonel Brandon Solberg also spoke at the ceremony noting the recruits hard work, dedication, flexibility in unprecedented times, and commitment to protecting the citizens of North Dakota. He stated, "Each of you through your daily efforts will have a direct impact on the safety of those we serve. With your help, we can make North Dakota the safest state in the nation."

The assigned duty locations of the new troopers will be announced following field training in April.

 Headquarters
 600 East Boulevard Avenue
 Bismarck, ND 58505

 PHONE: (701) 328-2455
 FAX: (701) 328-1717
 ND.gov/NDHP





Pictured (I-r): Bennett Strege; Henry Gaskins; Kristina Anderson; Mitchell Mehrer; James Myers, Dan Andersen; Stephen Horn; and Andrew Skogen.



Graduates take the oath of office as administered by **Retired Supreme Court Justice Dale Sandstrom** on Friday, Feb. 12.

For More Information Contact: Lt. Daniel Haugen, 701-328-9969, dhaugen@nd.gov

 Headquarters
 600 East Boulevard Avenue
 Bismarck, ND 58505

 PHONE: (701) 328-2455
 FAX: (701) 328-1717
 ND.gov/NDHP